Arizona Concealed Carry Permit Guide (2026)

Everything you need to know about getting and using a CCW in Arizona — requirements, application steps, training, reciprocity, restricted places, and self-defense laws.

Last reviewed: January 15, 2026
Permit Type
Permitless
Min Age
21+
DPS Processing Fee
$60
Processing
4–8 weeks
Training
Not specified by AZ DPS
Valid For
5 yrs
Renewal
$43
Reciprocity
38 states
California Non-Resident CCW Online Certification Course presented by instructor John Galletta

How to Apply in Arizona

Step-by-step process for getting your Arizona concealed carry permit through the Arizona DPS — Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.

  1. 1Confirm that your firearms training documentation meets current Arizona DPS requirements; Arizona DPS does not specify a fixed course duration.
  2. 2Gather your ID, required training documentation, and other documents requested by Arizona DPS; confirm current requirements for resident or nonresident applications.
  3. 3Submit your application to Arizona DPS. The processing fee is $60; online transaction fees currently bring the total to $67.45. Confirm the amount at checkout.
  4. 4Complete a state and federal background check (fingerprint clearance).
  5. 5Receive your permit within 4–8 weeks after approval.

Training Requirements

AZ DPS does not specify a fixed course-hour requirement for resident or non-resident permits. Confirm current training eligibility with AZ DPS before applying.

Arizona DPS does not specify a fixed number of course hours for the concealed weapons permit. Our online course is delivered in a three-hour format — that is how our course is built, not a state-mandated duration.

View the AZCCWOnline course

Where You Can't Carry in Arizona

Federal law and Arizona statute restrict concealed carry in several locations. Always check posted signage.

  • K-12 schools and school grounds
  • Federal buildings and post offices
  • Courthouses and judicial buildings
  • Polling places on election day
  • Establishments serving primarily alcohol
  • Private property posted against carry
  • Nuclear/hydroelectric power plants
  • Indian reservations (per tribal law)
California Non-Resident CCW Online Certification Course presented by instructor John Galletta
U.S. LawShield free trial QR code — promo SafeDef
Legal Protection Sponsor

Free 30-Day Trial of U.S. LawShield

Unlimited attorney representation for self-defense incidents, from $10.95/mo. Scan the QR code or use promo SafeDef to start your free trial.

Start Free Trial

Sponsored — we may earn a commission.

Arizona Self-Defense & Carry Laws

Key statutes that affect how you can legally carry and use a firearm for self-defense in Arizona.

Castle Doctrine: Yes
No duty to retreat in your home.
Stand Your Ground: Yes
No duty to retreat in any place you're legally present.
Duty to Inform Police: Yes
You must notify law enforcement you're carrying during an interaction.
Red Flag Law: No
Court can temporarily remove firearms via an ERPO.
Permit to Purchase: No
A separate purchase permit is required to buy a handgun.
Magazine Limit: No
No state magazine capacity limit.

Arizona Reciprocity

States that currently honor a Arizona concealed carry permit. Click any state for its own guide.

Renewal

A Arizona permit is valid for 5 years. Renewal costs $43 and should be started 90 days before expiration to avoid lapse.

Official Resources

Issuing Authority
Arizona DPS — Concealed Weapons Permit Unit
Official Arizona permit page

Resident and Non-Resident Permits: Available for $60.

Recommended Courses

Some recommended courses are operated by Safehouse Defense, the company behind this site. We identify those relationships so you can evaluate our recommendations.

How we rank: relevance to the permit you are pursuing, whether the course can be completed online, alignment with the issuing authority's published application steps, price transparency, and application support. Courses marked "Editor's Pick" are operated by Safehouse Defense.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Arizona require a permit to carry concealed?+

Arizona allows permitless (constitutional) carry for qualifying adults 21+, though a permit is still useful for reciprocity in other states.

What is the minimum age for a Arizona CCW?+

You must be at least 21 years old. Active-duty military and honorably discharged veterans may qualify earlier in some cases.

How much does a Arizona CCW permit cost?+

The Arizona DPS application fee is $60. Online payment may include transaction fees; confirm the total at checkout.

How long does Arizona take to process a CCW application?+

Typical Arizona processing time is 4–8 weeks after a complete application is submitted.

Is training required for a Arizona concealed carry permit?+

AZ DPS does not specify a fixed course-hour requirement for resident or non-resident permits. Confirm current training eligibility with AZ DPS before applying.

How long is a Arizona CCW permit valid?+

A Arizona permit is valid for 5 years. Renewal currently costs $43.

How many states recognize a Arizona CCW permit?+

38 states currently honor a Arizona concealed carry permit. Reciprocity changes — verify before traveling.

Does Arizona offer a non-resident CCW permit?+

Yes. Non-residents can apply; the fee is approximately $60.

Where can't you carry concealed in Arizona?+

Common off-limits places include: K-12 schools and school grounds, Federal buildings and post offices, Courthouses and judicial buildings, Polling places on election day, Establishments serving primarily alcohol, plus other state-specific locations.

Does Arizona have a duty to inform law enforcement?+

Yes. If lawfully stopped by police, you must inform the officer that you are carrying a concealed firearm.

Disclaimer: Concealed carry laws change frequently. This guide is for general information only and is not legal advice. Always verify current requirements with the Arizona DPS — Concealed Weapons Permit Unit before applying or carrying.

Firearms Training Courses for Every Carrier

Short, self-paced online courses covering the law, safety, and skills that apply no matter which state issued your permit.

Courses provided by U.S. LawShield. Links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.